Strasbourg 2009 – NL4 – in work

May 18, 2009 at 10:24 pm (Danielll, Skating, Tales)

NL4 Strasbourg Friday 15th – Sunday 17th Mai 2009

As usual I had university at 8 – unusual was the fact that I arrived in time. At about 12 Ive noticed that I forgot to bring my camera – that meant dropping java lessons, going back home by bus, getting the camera and going to the train station.
4 hours later I arrived in Strasbourg. Salem caught me at the station and we drove to his place. Maybe I should mention the pouring rain and that he came with a scooter.

Salem et moi - scooter!

Salem et moi - scooter!

Read the rest of the entry! and make sure to come back to check the edit in some days (ähm weeks)…

Salem moved to a new flat which is quiet big – it was crowded anyway – at no time I was able to count all the people there cause you never knew who just left or was about to arrive… Basically I dropped my backpack, got some food (noodles + hamburgermeat + no sauce), drank some vodka and we left to meet all the others at Mathias Silhans place.

so thirsty

so thirsty

All the others means hundreds of french rollerbladers, Olfert & Q from the Netherlands, Mihai & Ene from Romania, Nick Lomax from the UK, Nicolas Schöpfer from Geneva and many others… I forgot to mention that it still rained really hard and Salem once again had to take the scooter. We had a lot of free drinks & smokes and finally decided to party in a club.

Etienne et Mihai @Mr. Silhans place

Etienne et Mihai @Mr. Silhans place

Somehow nobody entered the club, it was a big, drunken talk show. When Salem told me he would go home soon I happily joined:
1. I was tired from getting up early,
2. Like this I was one of the lucky ones sleeping in a bed.

Olfert & Q

Olfert & Q

On Saturday morning I woke up with the worst headache ever – it felt like my brain was accelerated too much and hit the side of my skull every time I moved my head.
It seemed I slept a bit longer than most people cause the place was nearly empty and all the bikes in front of the door where gone.
No, nobody brought his own bike and no they didnt buy them there…

sometimes you have to repair a bike before you steal it...

sometimes you have to repair a bike before you steal it...

Anyway, we didnt know what to do cause Salem took the key for his flat. I guess I dont have to mention that he didnt answer his phone. Magically he showed up after an hour or maybe two and we finally left. In the park my headache got worse and I noticed that I wouldnt be able to skate and started filming.
The NL competition is really sick – there is Inline, Skateboard, Bmx and Basketball. But there where also 2 cars for the le parcour guys to have fun with, a lot of mono wheel bikes and even some of these guys with the huge grasshopper like jumping leg things on…

a part of the park & crowd

a part of the park & crowd

It was incredibly hot and I guess that wasnt really good for my head but I enjoyed the sun and the skating with good people around me.
The qualification was sick – you better check the edit ill come up with (when I can find the time).
They added a new subbox to the park that is really nice to skate, and they also changed the old square handicap rail against a round one. Somehow after the sundown my head felt better – maybe also due to the painkillers Ive got from Etienne. Anyway I decided to skate and Thomas le Belgue joined me. During the warmup I was still a bit dizzy and had a nasty little highspeed fishbrain slam. (as I now know I broke 2 rips there)

Stefan de Freitas

Stefan de Freitas

Olfert

Olfert

Nic Schöpfer

Nic Schöpfer

Q & Me

Q & Me

Time lapse:
Car -> Salems place -> shower -> tram without ticket -> meeting point -> 1 beer -> problem:
The entrance to the club was free for the skaters – unfortunately I didnt skate so I didnt have a bracelet, the good thing was that Olfert had 2, the bad thing that Thomas had to stay outside a while till I could organize an other bracelet for him.
The club was cool, the music good but I cant really remember anything of the party.

free beer?

free beer?

free Malibu?

free Malibu?

take a pic of me with her ass

take a pic of me with her ass

Only the fact that somehow, someone seemed to steal bottles of malibu (price 80€) from behind the bar and somehow I got way too drunk. After the 5th bottle (400€) was gone I somehow left the club, took a cab, puked, went to bed, slept for an hour, puked again and went back to bed.
When I woke up this Sunday all the others where gone except a hand full of guys. Again we had the key problem but this time Salem showed up faster. As I didnt knew how and when I was leaving we checked out the trains online but to get a ticket we had to go to the station. So after a good „fried egg and beans“ breakfast we took the scooter and went to the station.
As the second class was sold out I had to buy a first class ticket 90€ instead of 30€ – nice.
Needless to say that it started to rain as soon as we where on our way (on the scooter) to the skatepark. Luckily it stopped as fast as it started.
In the park I met all the others again, we ate, drank beer, watched the vert comp and the beginning of the amateur final. Then it started to rain (again) – first only a bit but then more and more till it rained cats and dogs.

Mathieu Heinemann didnt seem to be bothered by the rain at all – he keept comming up with amazing tricks on the rail – also some amazing slams into the huge puddels on the ground.
Some guy filmed him and decided it was time to change the perspektive – he tried to drop the wet concrete quarter with shoes – that turned out to be a bad idea – he slipped and dropped his cam – not sure if the cam still worked – the fisheye for sure didnt…

broken lense & Nic

broken lense & Nic

As there was no dry place in the whole skatepark I changed to my swimming trunks and enjoyed the warm rain.
Later the rain stopped and the sun came out but it was already too late – Im not sure if they made the final cause I had to leave to catch my expensive train.

got hotdog?

got hotdog?

Strasbourg is amazing – NL 4 was amazing so was NL3!
Thanks Salem youre the best!!!

drop a comment leaving me your email address if you want to have all the pics I took!

NL3 edit:

1 Comment

  1. olfert said,

    love the pics!
    but i want to see more!
    going to put them on your facebook?

Leave a Reply

