USD carbon 4 – review

August 29, 2012 at 11:09 pm (Danielll, products, Setups)


click on the pictures to enlarge them.

Yay I received my Carbon 4.
First thing I have to mention is that Im skating carbon frees in 42 – but the carbon 4 fits better in 43.  Good thing is that there doesnt seam to be any difference in the real size of the boot/shell. At least It doesnt appear to be longer than my free.
My personal carbon size table would  be:

carbon f  – 42;     carbon 1 – 42;     carbon 2 – 42;     carbon 3 – 43;     carbon 4 – 43;

– The Liner:
Thats right, the skate comes with a liner. I have to admit that Im not a fan of the idea of carbons with a liner. Good news is that the liner is really thin and pretty comfortable. So actually the liner is a nice add on. The skate felt a bit tighter in the outer small toe area – but that might be cause I compared it to a several months old carbon free. For most people this is probably not going to be a problem but I cant skate most skates cause years of skating deformed my feet so they are pretty wide (The USD carbon is the skate I have the least problems with that). Also I didnt heatmould neither the liner nor the skate. Thats right the liner is heatmouldable.
My friend Chris made a Video about heatmoulding the liner, if youre interested check it out:


Im not sure if the skate is heatmouldable but then I remember heatmoulding UFS thrones back in the day… so its definitely worth a try.
Something that I really like about the liner are the laces. By tightening them you can get some extra support – and obviously you can just remove them if you dont need them to gain some flex.  The tongue is big and most importantly doesnt twist or move too much during skating.
An other important feature (at least for me) that is often ignored is the big, solid loop so one can carry the skate comfortable without hurting your fingers.

– The Cuff
The Cuff has changed a lot. With 4 screws you can turn it into an V-cut cuff and from V-cut back to a normal cuff. An awesome feature if you ask me. The buckle is extremely solid – I guess its aluminium. Its well protected and lasts forever – at least mine does. Ive been skating carbon since the first one came out and never managed to mess up a buckle so badly that i could not use it anymore. Another good thing is that you can skate the “old” cuff too – I put on the cuff of my carbon free as its softer than the new cuff – but thats just cause I like my skates extremely soft.
If you own some kind of multitool you can also just turn the new cuff into the old cuff by removing the lower part. I didnt do that but its pretty obvious.

– The Powerstrap
Thats a really small but good improvement. The ps is now remove and exchangeable. So you can skate with or without it or replace it if its fucked up. The old one was replaceable too – but not the metal parts. Now you can change them too – with just 1-2 screws.

– Flex
For me Flex is one of the most important features of a skate. After 7 knee surgeries I prefer extremely soft skates so I dont have to bend my knees like crazy to go topside on curbs. When it comes to flex the carbon 4 is quite similar to the carbon 3 – which means it offers more support than I want. The good thing about the skate is that you have a lot of control about the amount of flex it offers.

For the maximum amount of flex do the following:
– remove the laces of the liner.
– remove the normal laces like 1-2 eyes (holes).
– make the cuff a v-cut cuff OR buy/use an old cuff
– And finally the trick with the most impact – put an shock absorber under the liner.
With an combination of these “tricks” im pretty sure that you will find the perfect flex for you.
As every carbon the skate offers a lot of flex to the front and (with the v-cut) also to the back. In my opinion this is totally necessary to enable you to move more naturally and thus more stylish.

– Shock absorber
The skate comes with a small but good shock absorber integrated in the sole of the liner. For most people that should be enough (me included) – if you feel like you need more you can still add some extra shock absorbers under the liner.

– Carbon/weight
Like every carbon the skate is amazingly light – in size 42 boot only it should be like 1,1 kg.  Im not sure but I heard the carbon got overworked and is stronger now – it for sure looks different.

– Side Protection
USD included some “rubber side protection” thingy. I personally dont need that but than I change my skates pretty often. It doesnt mess up the looks and helps to make the skate more durable so its a nice improvement.

– The Soulplate
The carbon 4 has the same soulplate as the carbon 2, 3 & free. Its got a big but not too big soulspace and the negative space is big enough to do negatives even on “bigger” rails. It slides really fast on soul and royals. Even if I could I wouldnt change a thing.

– Conclusion
In my opinion the carbon series is the best the skate market has to offer. I love the sneaker like looks, the skates are super light, super customizable, offer all the flex and support I want, the soulplates work perfectly well – there is nothing I would really change.
Im not sure if im going to skate a C4 or continue to skate Cfrees. Both skates are pretty awesome and qite similar. I might go for the carbon free but only cause Im on my second pair already and Im really used to how it feels.

I wrote about the carbon II some time ago – if you want to know my opinion on that skate check LINK
The same goes for the Imperial. LINK  and the carbon free vs. carbon II.

If I missed something important that youd like to know more about let me know, best on facebook…

4 Comments

  1. Rock on :) said,

    awthum ! THX 🙂 For now going to stick to my carbon free’s but plan to upgrade soon to the next gen of USDs after this..

  2. USD Carbon 4 review by Daniel Prell | Rollerblading News said,

    […] and check the full review on let me bore your mind – by dprell :: USD carbon 4 – review This entry was posted in Rollerblading product review and tagged Daniel Prell, USD Carbon 4, […]

  3. thursdaycustoms said,

    Nice and simple. I’m really curious to see what the inside of the skate looks like without the liner though. Are you willing to add pictures of this?

    • danielll said,

      I would if i could – im skating a free at the moment and dont have the old 4s anymore ;(

Leave a Reply

